This article on liberal students has been making it's way around...

View previous topic View next topic Go down

This article on liberal students has been making it's way around...

Post by raerae on Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:56 am

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

What do you guys think? Personally, I think this professor is trying to address two issues and failing to focus on one. The consumer-based customer service way of dealing with student complaints is a legitimate issue. Having to be 'too' PC, though, I don't believe he wrote convincingly about. I mean, getting upset over trigger warnings?

I think this is a decent rebuttal:

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
raerae

View user profile http://raerae.deviantart.com

Back to top Go down

Re: This article on liberal students has been making it's way around...

Post by Cat C on Thu Jun 04, 2015 9:48 am

That rebuttal is near-perfect, and I agree with the author on most points. I work as an "Adjunct" and "Instructor" -and the things you are reading here are all too true. Both of them.

One thing I had to keep telling myself as I read Schlosser's piece is that he, by his own admission of his places in the world, is coming from a place much more privileged than most educators and is writing from that perspective. He has some decent points, but also exhibits some real disconnect from issues, likely because he has not experienced or witnessed them personally, nor has empathy due to that set of privileges. And yes, Schlosser doesn't understand triggers. At all.